Dedicated To…

In my last post about Ringette Skates For A Cure – Montréal Style I mentioned that I arrived at the rink wearing my dedication shirt. I didn’t go into detail because I wanted to do a post all about it.

I picked up the shirt at my gym, The Athletic Club, because when I saw it I knew it was exactly right. Then I went out and found a bright pink permanent marker so I could add four names to it. Those names are:

Alma, my great aunt who to be honest I have no memory of because she was stolen from us that long ago by breast cancer. To this day my mom always speaks of her fondly and with a smile. Every time I have done anything to raise money for breast cancer awareness I have done it in her name.

Patricia, oh Patricia you crazy lady! Patricia was the original inspiration for this fundraiser, the one who put us all to shame when she came on board with her ideas and energy. Anyone that was in on the Ottawa events and got a gift bag, almost all that stuff was thanks to Patricia. There isn’t room here for me to list all the things she did for the Ottawa events. She is still encouraging everyone to fight, and win, the battle.

Carole was one of my niece’s grandmothers, also stolen from the world. I never met this lady but she meant a lot to my niece and anyone who has mattered to her matters to me.

Marianne, my fellow Boxer loving friend. Marianne has recently finished her radiation treatments and while she has a ways to go she is currently cancer free. She epitomizes beauty, grace and humour and she is sharing her journey via her own blog, Finding My Inner Superwoman.

Ladies, know your breasts. Know what is and isn’t normal for YOU. When your doctor says you should start going for mammograms, go. Don’t whine about the inconvenience or the pain, which in my experience there isn’t any. Just go, a bit of time out of your day could save your life.

IMG_3355

Leave a comment